Another Red Carpet, Another Fashion Blog…

Awards season is always great fun for me, not because I particularly care who wins for what, but because of the red carpet.  Seriously, I would dress like this myself every day if I could get away with it, but alas, there are few red carpets to be walked in my corner of the Midwest, where one gets dressed up for senior prom and one’s wedding day and is pretty much relegated to wearing flannel pajama pants and Uggs for the remaining duration of one’s life.  Sorry for that;  it’s snowing here this evening and I have been staring miserably at the website for Club Med and wishing for a little color in the world.  Anyway, I digress.  The Screen Actors Guild Awards ceremony took place today, and I had a terrible case of the blahs about this year’s awards season due to the drab garb at the recent Golden Globes.  Fortunately, the Globes were apparently NOT a harbinger of things to come, as evidenced by tonight’s fashion parade at the SAGs.

Since I have begun regularly posting my take on red carpet wear, I’ve decided to officially turn my awards-show posts into little awards shows of my own.  Without further ado, I bring you… The Fluffies!

Category:  Most Improved

(Tie) Tina Fey and Melissa McCarthy

Tina Fey is known for her odd choices on the red carpet, but she nailed it with this vintage Versace.  Melissa McCarthy has been hiding in sad sad dresses since coming on the scene, but at last she has found her sense of style in Badgley Mischka.

Category: Best Reporter

(Tie) Maria Menounos and Nancy O’Dell

Extra‘s Menounos has shown up on my best-dressed list before, and this Dolce & Gabbana dress gets her there again.  Entertainment Tonight‘s O’Dell brings the wow factor in fire engine red.

Category:  Cutest

Emma Stone

Emma wins this one, hands down.  Her Alexander McQueen party dress is adorably retro, her hair is great and those shoes… those shoes are to die for.  Want want want.

Category: Best Use of Lace in a Leading Role

Stacy Kiebler

Stacy’s Marchesa gown is the picture of perfection.  I’m usually not a fan of allover lace, but this is the way to do it right.  Another nod to Stacy for Best Arm Candy in the form of her boyfriend, George Clooney.

Category:  Best Jazz (Age) Ensemble

Ashlee Simpson

Simpson’s Jenny Packham dress has a definite Art Deco look, and she appears to have stepped straight from the pages of a Fitzgerald novel.  The Twenties roar.

Category:  Best Drama

Jayma Mays

Jayma’s expression of glee (sorry, couldn’t resist) tells the whole story:  she is rocking the heck out of this Reem Acra, and she knows it.

Category: Worst Dressed

(Tie) Meryl Streep and Giuliana Rancic

Meryl’s Vivienne Westwood on its own would be fetching, but the crime against humanity that is that belt ruins everything.  As for Giuliana, as a fashion correspondent she should know better;  this busy Basil Soda dress makes me want to gouge out my eyes.

Category:  Best Dressed

(Tie) Naya Rivera and Viola Davis

Anything I could say about Naya’s Raeem Khan gown would not be adequate.  To say it is perfect would not be off the mark.  Ditto for Viola’s incredible Marchesa.  She is a goddess incarnate in it.

Special Category:  The Fluffy Award

Kaley Cuoco

The Fluffy Award represents the embodiment of all I love best, my personal aesthetic, the dress I would have picked for myself.   In this case, it is also actually fluffy.  Kaley is wearing Romona Keveza in one of my favorite colors– a pale green so minty it looks spun from sugar.  Love.  Just.  Love.

//

//

//

Leave a Reply

