RIP Casey Kasem, 1932-2014

casey-kasem-behind-mic_thumb

When I was six years old, I had a huge crush on a character from Battle of the Planets (Gatchaman to the anime purists) named Mark.  He was the leader of the team, smart, assured, handsome– everything my tiny self found awesome in a guy.  I didn’t let the little fact that he was animated dissuade me from the hope I would marry him one day.  A large part of why Bitsy Fluffy found him so fascinating was his voice.  His voice was absolutely incredible– mellifluous, rather soft but still commanding, with a bit of a rasp around the edges that just made it all the more attractive.  I was a little too old for crushes on cartoons before I found out that that voice belonged to Casey Kasem, a popular radio DJ and prolific voiceover artist who was also the set of pipes behind Scooby Doo‘s Shaggy, The Superfriends’ Robin, and many other characters, but by that time I was most interested in listening to his weekly radio show, American Top 40, with my cassette deck prepped to record the highly important music of the moment.  In short, Kasem’s was the voice of my youth, and I was saddened to hear of his passing this morning.  From the cartoons of my childhood to the greatest hits of my teenage years, Kasem’s unique voice was the backdrop throughout, and he will be missed.  Thanks for the memories.

Leave a Reply

