A Small Set of Fluffy Awards… Producers Guild Edition

The Producers Guild of America’s annual awards ceremony is possibly the lowest-profile event of Oscar season, and consequently the red carpet is rather sparsely attended, and wildly variable; evening gowns share space with more casual attire, and it’s like pulling teeth to find out the designers for most of the outfits. I’ve spent the better part of the day scouring Google and Twitter, but discovered the makers of only six of the outfits, so if there’s not a designation, trust that I tried and failed. Boo me. ☹️ Also, I didn’t see anything that truly bothered me enough to denote it as Worst Dressed, so this is a fairly positive batch of Fluffies. 

Category: Red Royalty 

Suzanne Cryer 

 This is a really simple design made memorable with shimmer fabric. Could not find a maker; as with all the anonymous designs, if anybody knows, let me know in the comments. 

Category: The Gold Medal 

Kelly Lynch 

 I’m not crazy about the belt here, but I do love me some lamé, and this wrap dress really stands out. Who made it? 

Category: The Blue Ribbon 

Jennifer Jason Leigh 

 This sapphire Roland Mouret is so cool!  Love the textured fabric and structured strapless neckline, not to mention how beautifully dimensional the color is. 

Category: The Goddess Award

Viola Davis 

 I may not know who made the dress, but Viola looks incredible in it!  Accented with rows of rhinestones which swing free at the ends, it’s a real stunner. 

Category: Cutest

America Ferrera 

 Repeat win in this category for America, who’s slaying this award season! This awesome little polka-dot creation is by Alexia Maria. 

Category: Best Accessorization

Nischelle Turner 

 Another dress that I couldn’t turn up a designer for, it features a striking leather bodice contrasting with a flowing skirt. The real eye catcher for me, though, is the awesome necklace, and the coordinating sparkly cuff bracelet. 

Category: The Effortless Award

Amanda Seyfried 

 I love this entire look– so unfussy and ethereal. Does she fall out of bed looking this good?

Category: The Dazzle Award 

Kat Kramer 

 This whole ensemble is just so over-the-top that I’m more than a little in love with it, but as I can’t find the designer, it’s a doomed love. That rich blue-violet color, the crystal-studded bodice, the dramatic train, the shimmery shawl, the statement earrings. Just. Wow. 

Category: A Short Story 

Cheryl Hines 

 This gorgeous lacy Romona Keveza is trés flattering, and I am loving the peep toe sling back platform stilettos too!  So cute!

Category: Best Retro

Shonda Rhimes  

 This is just beautiful! This Tiffany-blue dress with silver flower accents has a definite Mad Men vibe, carried through in the pointy-toed pumps, vintage-inspired handbag, filigree bracelet, and glittery cardigan. 

Category: Monochrome Award of Merit 

Marcia Gay Harden 

 Oliver Tolentino designed this textured black and white trumpet dress, a streamlined and statuesque look. 

Category: Not-So-Basic Black

Frances Fisher 

 This LBD is the perfect backdrop for a statement necklace, a gleaming gold bangle, and seriously cute shoes. 

Category: Best Dressed 

Lady Gaga 

 This palest-blush-pink Carolina Herrera gown, embellished with black rhinestones on the spaghetti straps and sweetheart neckline and accessorized with bright Chopard diamonds, looks absolutely perfect on Lady Gaga as she takes the stage to perform her song Till it Happens to You. Breathtaking. 

Special Category: The Fluffy Award 

Sarah Paulson 

 The Extra-Special Fluffy Award goes to the dress I would have chosen for myself and which best represents my own style. This lovely Prabul Gurung with its draped strapless bodice and brush strokes of warm sunny color is a great antidote for my winter blahs. So original, and so me!

As I said earlier, if anyone knows the designer behind the unidentified dresses, please drop me a comment so I can edit the post. Sorry for the brevity, but there just wasn’t a lot of coverage for these awards; hopefully the next post will be more extensive and easier to research! 

Leave a Reply

