An Underwhelmed Batch of Oscar Night Fluffy Awards

I’ve been chronicling the red-carpet foibles of award season divas for several years now, and in all that time it’s been rare for me to find myself as bored by the crop of designer frocks on display as I was last night. There were a few bright spots in a sea of mostly dull duds, and at least I bothered to put on my Marchesa and show up (courtesy of Photoshop, as always; Fluffy hasn’t yet finagled an actual invitation yet):

Yep, the gray stripe in my hair is real these days.  Anyway, so little was going on fashion-wise that I’m going to forgo my usual category system (except for the Special Fluffy Award, which goes to the dress most in line with my personal taste); I can’t even name a best or worst dressed, as everything was pretty staid and bland, so will instead talk a bit about why these gowns actually made somewhat of an impression on me. (I was sorely tempted to throw out the whole post out of sheer boredom, but it was the freaking Oscars, and I bothered to ‘shop myself weeks ago, so the show goes on.)

Taraji P. Henson in Alberta Ferretti

A bit on the simple side, but that’s because the fabric is the star and needs nothing else. Midnight blue velvet gets me every time. 

Emma Stone in Givenchy 

I have a sweater in almost this exact color scheme, so that’s an automatic win for me, but the fun addition of fringe seals the deal. 

Chrissy Teigen in Zuhair Murad 

Normally not a big fan of beige (or cream, or eggshell, or whatever you wanna call it), but the beading looks like fireworks and it has. A. Cape. Too cool. 

Priyanka Chopra in Ralph & Russo

Loads of visual interest in the gravity-defying bodice and mosaic pattern, and one of the braver choices here. The diamond bracelets are the perfect touch. 

Viola Davis in Armani Privé 

The brilliant red gown stood out in a crowd of mostly the same old same old. The off-shoulder design and halter neck add nice detail to a simple and elegant look. 

Kirsten Dunst in Christian Dior 

A perfectly accessorized dream of a plain black dress that’s anything but boring. The high-low hemline isn’t done much on ballgown styles, and I love it when it is. 

Halle Berry in Atelier Versace 

Fringe was kind of a thing this year, and this is one of the best examples. The asymmetrical overlay adds additional wow factor. 
Brie Larson in Oscar de la Renta 

Those ruffles!  I love velvet, and this is quite the dramatic application of it, with that plunging neckline and mid-thigh split; and did I mention the ruffles?
Scarlett Johansson in Alaïa

Another standout color choice, this floaty pink print dress is made by the sparkly statement belt. Bracelets which coordinate with said belt complete the look. 
Octavia Spencer in Marchesa 

More fringe, but this time it’s made of feathers! How fun is that? Love the rich silver color and the overall look of this beautiful ball gown. 
Nicole Kidman in Armani Privé 

More beige (sigh), but at least there is a really interesting beading thing going on here. 
The Special Fluffy Award

Hailee Steinfeld in Ralph & Russo

 When I include multiple photos of a dress, you know it’s something pretty special, and this sheer, ethereal flower garden of a gown was my absolute favorite of the evening. 
There you have it; the 2017 Awards Season goes in the books with more of a ho-hum than a bang, but maybe next year will be better. One can hope. Laters…

Leave a Reply

